The Marketplace

2018 Album by Acropolis Blues

Listen on SpotifyListen on Apple Music

I wrote this album as a love letter to the OPM rock and punk classics I grew up on. At the same time, though, production and music in general has come a long way since the days of Parokya’s Gitara or Taking Back Sunday’s Cute Without the E. So I wanted to capture the image we have of these in our heads, rather than just create an album that’s basically “those songs except it’s 2018”. It’s a polite and worshipful nod to the music of the past, but with fairly modern musical sensibilities. I called it “The Marketplace” because of how it contains ideas from many different sources — sort of like the open marketplace of ideas — and additionally parts of it weren’t played solely by me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the way that music is evolving, and I try my best to keep up to date with the latest songs. Also, I know that pop music tends to be somewhat cyclical, with people moving away and towards certain genres decade-by-decade. However, sometimes you just can’t help but think, “where’s the rock, man?” So that’s what this album is, or what I intended it to be. It’s an answer for anybody’s who’s wondering where that stuff has gone. I’m delighted that it’s starting to make a comeback in today’s sphere, but really, it never left.

Listen on SpotifyListen on Apple Music

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Across the Sea
  3. Red Handed
  4. Never Alone
  5. Tell Me
  6. Dancer
  7. How Long
  8. Dilim